“It’s so long since I’ve had sex, I’ve forgotten who ties up whom.” —Joan Rivers

I’m writing sex again.

It’s been ten-thousand years.

It’s like riding a bike, not going to lie. Writing across several genres (romance, fantasy, horror) I’ve come to recognize the stuff that’s easy to fall back into and what’s a struggle, and sex is the easiest. I fall into that shit like it’s a Posturepedic.

My weaknesses are many. I mean I’m pretty shit at a lot of stuff but mostly intros and first lines. I work into things slowly and I always get “you need to get to the tension/action faster” in critiques. I think that’s the horror writer in me. Sucks that every story in every genre has to have a first line and an intro haha. Also grammar? Punctuation? Yeah, not my thing. But at least there are editors for those.

But anyway, I was talking about sex scenes. I like them. I like writing them. I like reading them a lot. I also like to read and write fight scenes, and I think the creation of the two share the same part of my brain. Both involve more than one person (yes I understand there are solo sexual situations bear with me) and both are intensely physical. Both acts are shaped by the individual skill level of the participants, be they skilled or no; experienced or no. And, most importantly, in both situations, if the encounter is fueled by emotion you can dial everything up to 12.

I love it when the emotions are high. It doesn’t even need to be a sexy thing or during a fight. I’m reading this book now, Hush by Tal Bauer, and yes there’s sex and yes there’s a lot of romance but there’s also this courtroom/political thing involving presidential assassins and Russia and it all kind of hinges on the main character struggling with his identity and coming out as gay and there’s just so many feelings gaahhhh. It’s so intense. Also Joel Leslie is a god of audiobook narrating fuuuck me.

Moving on, there is no point to this post. I just wanted to gush about how much I missed writing sex and how happy I am to be doing it again. It’s nice to be writing something that’s not killing my brain or making me want to tear out my hair in frustration.

Hopefully you all are not killing your brains or wanting to tear your hair out. Love your pets! Have a great rest of your week!

Leave a comment